Hotarubi no Mori e

Hotarubi no Mori e

Hotarubi no Mori e is a beautiful anime about a girl named Takegawa Hotaru and a spirit named Gin. They met accidentally when the six-year-old Hotaru got lost in the forest during a vacation in her uncle’s village. Gin helped Hotaru to get out of the forest with a condition that Hotaru won’t touch Gin, as it will make him disappear. After the incident, Hotaru always comes back to the forest every year to meet Gin as they become closer.

Hotarubi no mori e is one of a few anime that really touches me to the point that I cried. Everything is just in the right place. I love the story, I love the designs, I love the music, and I love the characters. This fact makes it hard for me to give you a review without any spoiler, but I’ll try.

The story itself tells us about friendship and romance. This anime really pictures well the excitement to see someone who you can met only a few days in a year (hello people who goes through long distance relationship out there!). Furthermore, it also pictures that no matter how short the time you have, it doesn’t matter as long as you can enjoy it to the fullest.

Before I talk more about the story, I will talk about other aspects first. Start with the character designs that will absolutely remind you of Natsume Yuujinchou, I think that Hotarubi no mori e has a beautiful art. The background maybe not that consistent and not as warming as Natsume Yuujinchou, but they are still beautifully drawn. Of course, the real pleasure for me is to see Gin and how handsome he is (sorry for fangirling).

Another important aspect of the anime is the music. I just love it a lot. It really goes along with the story and build the mood. The music is another important part that stir your emotion while watching it.

All these aspects of the anime are what make the ending of Hotarubi no mori e really touching. I have watched this a few times and I still can’t help but to feel the bittersweet ending. So, I highly recommend that you watch this anime and prepare for an emotional trip.

MyAnimeList rating: 8.58

Personal rating: 9.85

P.S.: Actually, I start to forget what I have written here. So, if you have any tips for me so that I won’t write a review twice, please kindly tell me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

