Elfen Lied

Elfen Lied

In this world, there is a special breed known as “Diclonius”. Born with special power, the diclonius are secretly used by the government as weapon and subject for inhumane experiment. One day, one of the diclonius, Lucy, finally able to escape from the facility. However, she was badly injured in the head and makes her suffer from a split personality disorder. She was then saved by a college student, Kouta. However, Kouta didn’t realize that his decision would lead him to a fearsome truth.

Actually, Elfen Lied is one of my favorite anime. Though some people choose to overlook it because of the gore and nudity. For some, Elfen Lied is a masterpiece, while for the others, it just sells the gore and nudity points. While I actually enjoy gore and don’t really care with nudity, I think that Elfen Lied has a dark yet sad story.

Elfen Lied offers a story with a great plot twist that left me enjoy it more. Sure there are some plot holes as this anime only comes with 13 episodes. Yet, because of the dark and sad plot, this anime succeed in making me wish for a happy ending, which I rarely do. I think what makes Elfen Lied can be easily ignored is because of the first episode. It already shows gore and nude scenes. However, it will turn way better after that.

I personally like how Elfen Lied goes in a fast pace, yet not that fast so you can really grab everything that is told. The characters are also deep with their own pasts and it really help in understanding what happened. However, sometimes they are too naive to the point that makes me bored.

One of Elfen Lied’s signatures is the opening song that will give you a creepy yet calming feeling. Personally, I really like the song, not just the opening but also the ending. However, with a plot like that, I think that the ending doesn’t fit the story because it is too cheerful. Also, I think that they overuse the opening song a bit because you can hear it a lot of times in different versions in the anime.

As for the graphic, I don’t really have much to say. The character designs can be better, but I think it’s still fine. The colors and the style are also consistent so they don’t bother me much.

Overall, I highly recommend this anime. Just forget what they say about the explicit content and give it a try.

MyAnimeList rating: 7.81

Personal rating: 9.25

Leave a Reply

