Kimi no Iru Machi

Kimi no Iru Machi

Haruto Kirishima lives an ordinary peaceful life in the countryside before a girl from Tokyo named Yuzuki Eba suddenly moves to his house. Just as he begins to enjoy her companion, Eba suddenly left to Tokyo, leaving a lot of questions in Kirishima’s mind. Pursuing for an answer, Kirishima decided to move to Tokyo and look for Eba.

Drama. That’s all this anime is about. With only 12 episodes, the story moves along in a too fast pace.  What’s worse from an anime like Kimi no Iru Machi is that the story is too predictable. I don’t read the manga so I won’t compare them. But, I read reviews that say how the anime skips a lot of part that is in the manga. I think that explains how there are some plot holes that for me should have been told as well. Maybe more episodes will make it better actually.

There is also two episodes of OVA, one is the prequel and the other is the sequel. I don’t have much to say about the prequel, but I’m kind of disappointed as well with the sequel because they really skip a lot of things, like how suddenly Kirishima “disappears” until near the end of the story.

As for the character, Kirishima is a rather silent type while Eba is more social, though Eba has her own issue as well. Actually the characters are good, even for the supporting characters, they have just the right portion. Their characteristics are not my favorite, but they are fit for the story even with the plot holes.

Related to the characters, I thought that Kimi no Iru Machi is a pretty old anime because of the drawing. The character design is what you will find in older anime, like in early 2000s. I’m not saying that it’s bad; instead I think that it’s pretty good. They use a lot of pale color that gives a nice atmosphere to the anime, though I found some inconsistencies for the background.

Another thing that I enjoy is the opening song. Just the song btw, not those fan services shown. This is the only music that I find enjoyable, while the BGMs and the ending song is standard.

In summary, I don’t really enjoy this anime, probably because I’m not a big fan of drama and because the story is easy to predict. Still, I think that for a big fan of romance drama, this can be a good choice.

MyAnimeList rating: 7.15

Personal rating: 5.50

Leave a Reply

