Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

Makoto Niwa is excited to face his adolescence when he moved to other town after his parents went abroad. However, what he is facing is not what seems to be normal. He discovers many eccentric characters, from his unknown cousin to a complete stranger who claimed herself as an ESP.

It is hard to make a synopsis of Denpa Onna because there are a lot of things happened in a rather slow pace. As I mentioned, there are many characters with their own uniqueness. The first episode really took my interest to watch the anime. However, due to the slow pace, to be honest, I’m kind of bored when finishing this anime.

Still, when I try to look deeper to the story, I can see some good values hidden within the story of a boy’s adolescence. The main value that can be really seen is about how people have their own uniqueness. There are so many different type of people, and somehow we can’t say whether they are right or wrong because we are not them. We don’t know what they’ve been through before meeting us.

Another value is that people change. There is this one episode that tells us about the daily routine of one of the characters. Of course I won’t go to detail because I don’t want to give spoiler. Yet, I can say that from the episode, we can see the background of the character, and how this character changes because of what happens in life.

While I got pretty bored, I won’t deny that related to the value that I spoke; there is clearly a development from the characters. However, I think that it can be seen more clearly after you watched the whole anime.

I guess that for some people that think Denpa Onna is boring, the art is what makes them keep watching the anime. I love the character design with great color palette used for the background and everything that is very enjoyable to the eye. More from the characters, personally I think that some scenes have similarities to Monogatari series because of how the characters speak and act.

As for the music, both the OP and ED are what you will find in some moe anime with a rather absurd lyrics and unique voice. The BGMs are simple but somehow it resembles the atmosphere from the anime. So, even though I’m not a fan of the music, I can say that they do great.

Overall, Denpa Onna is a light-hearted anime with a slow pace. It is good, but I don’t think that everyone can enjoy it and really see what this anime is about.

MyAnimeList rating: 7.31

Personal rating: 8.25

Leave a Reply

