Lie to Me

Lie to Me Poster

Lie to Me is a 3-seasons-TV series that aired from 2009-2011. It is about a man named Cal Lightman who is an expert in micro expression to detect lies and reveal the truth. In his work, he is helped with some colleagues, Gillian FosterEli Loker, and Ria Torres. However, working in the field that involves many different types of people may complicate things, including his personal life with his daughter, Emily, and his ex-wife, Zoe.

This is my first review on American TV-series and I find it a bit difficult to summarize the whole thing because a TV series can have so many episodes due to so many seasons (that is released every year, which is suck if you have been hooked with one and have to wait a year to know what happens next). For me, Lie to Me has a very interesting theme because I have personal interest on human psychology and it is hard to find a good series or movie that really focused on that. I learned a lot from this series because you will be faced with different cases on each episode.

However, as interesting as it is, I couldn’t help myself not to feel bored. First thing is that not every case will get you thrilled. The next thing that is pretty fatal to the series in my opinion is that you can hardly see the development on each character. I can understand that our main character is of the very stubborn type, but you can expect more from the other characters like how the stress from their lifework can change them to better or worse and how it will develop their relationship with each other. There are some changes of course but it seems that they are “too professional” and these changes don’t seem to affect themselves much.

Lastly, about the songs. I really like the OP song called “Brand New Day” by Ryan Star though I don’t really pay attention to the ending song except for the first one called “Easier to Lie” by Aqualung. A very emotional song that is also good to hear and the lyrics are so true for some people. For me, I would wish for more seasons but I think that in the end of season 3 they don’t have a very good rating and chose to end it, which has become a good reason for you who wants a series with less episodes.

IMDb rating: 8/10

Personal rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

