Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru (Yuuki Yuuna is a hero in English) is an anime about a group of high school girls that are members of the Hero Club. The girls are Yuuki YuunaTogo MimoriInubouzaki Fuu and her sister Itsuki, and Miyoshi Karin who joined later. Their mission is simple, “to help people in need, including other clubs in school”. However, without them knowing, they are destined to be a real hero who fight against evil thing called “vertice” and protect the world from being destroyed. Yuuki Yuuna and the others must risk their life to become heroes for the world by becoming magical girls.

So I decided to watch this after I saw a recommendation from somewhere I forget (I think it’s 9gag) and I think what I learnt from this anime is that with great powers come great risks. Somehow this anime has pretty much surprised me along with how the story develops. A good thing that makes this pretty recommended, though I will say it bluntly that Madoka Magica is still more surprising and way darker. That is why if by any chance you haven’t watched both I would suggest you to watch this one first. Aside from that, the minus point from this anime itself is the ending that seems too fast and easy. As for the characters, because I think that the timeline of the anime is short, you can’t really see many development, but of course this doesn’t mean that it’s a bad thing. It will be weird to see much change in the characters in a very short time.

Move on to the music, I can say that I pretty much like the BGMs and ending songs, though the opening songs don’t impress me much. Of course, I won’t judge the songs as good or bad because it is a matter of taste, but I can say much that the BGMs are really supporting the mood as the story goes. Lastly, the art of the anime. There is a big difference in the style of the art during battle scene and normal everyday scene. The art during the battle scene takes place in an alternative world and I love it a lot along with one of the strongest points of mahou shoujo anime, their costumes. I’m not saying that the normal scene drew badly. It’s good, but not that impressive. Overall this anime is enjoyable and a must watch if you like the mahou shoujo genre.

MyAnimeList rating: 7.53

Personal rating: 7.50

Leave a Reply

