Kimi no Na wa

Kimi no Na wa.

Kimi no Na wa is a new movie from Makoto Shinkai with a bit of supernatural genre in it. The story comes with two main characters that live in two different conditions. The first one is Mitsuha, a countryside high school girl who dreams to leave her city and move to Tokyo. Another one is Taki, a high school boy from Tokyo and also a part timer in an Italian cafe who has strong interest in architecture. One day, a while after a moment of a fallen comet, Mitsuha dreams that she become a high school boy, while Taki dreams that he becomes a high school girl. What is exactly happening to them?

If you are similar with Shinkai’s works, you will get it once I said that this anime is so Shinkai-ish. For the first couple of minutes, maybe you won’t get any sense of this anime. But, after that, you will get to know what this anime is about. Of course, as this anime is so typical of his works, I can pretty much guess the ending, though that doesn’t make me enjoy the anime less. While the anime can be said as lack of surprise, yet the story is heart warming and I find it very enjoyable to see both characters that lead very different life. Unfortunately, the supernatural thing is not described really well. It just happened, so I guess that’s the main minus point of the story.

I won’t say much about the artwork, as we all know Makoto Shinkai is great. The details, the colors, everything is almost perfect while I can see that actually there are a lot of better character designs (with hotter guys and cuter girls), but I guess it is not a very big deal. The characters themselves are your average high school students. It is common for Shinkai to have simple characters. But, I can’t feel the connection to the characters. Like, they are too brief explained and they left me with just a little impression. The OSTs are done by a Japanese band RADWIMPS. The songs are good with the lyrics are helping to build up the emotion, but sometimes it feels a little off and for me personally, I think an instrumental will be better for a background in the middle of the story.

Overall, this anime is great, though Kotonoha no Niwa is still my favorite. This anime can pretty much give you an emotional roller coaster and I think that this anime is a must watch.

MyAnimeList rating: 9.39

Personal rating: 9.25

Leave a Reply

