Puella Magi Madoka Magica / Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Puella Magi Madoka Magica is an anime that I thought I wouldn’t watch because the artwork seems very girly and childish. Yet after I read some reviews about this anime, I got interested and watched it. My opinion in short, it is surprisingly awesome and has a dark side that you wouldn’t guess when you are looking at the poster.

The story begins with the introduction of our main character, Madoka Kaname, who maintains a normal happy life with her family and best friend, Sayaka Miki. One day, Madoka and Miki met Kyuubey, a magical creature that offers them to be a magical girl and fight the “witch”, where they will be granted a wish if they would. However, a transfer student named Akemi Homura appears and tries to stop Madoka to be one. After that, their life has changed.

Personally I don’t like the childish type drawing like the one you will see in this anime. However, the artwork of how the witches are pictured is great. At first, I don’t know why MyAnimeList put “psychological” on its genre (and that’s actually the main reason of why I watch this anime), and I think this anime has a side of psychological problem, though it won’t be as complicated as Psycho Pass for example. But the plot twist and everything is great and I was really enjoying every episode until its movie that are completed with great musics.

MyAnimeList rating: 8.53

Personal rating: 9.00

5 thoughts on “Puella Magi Madoka Magica / Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica

  1. I really liked how Madoka subverted the magical girl genre and had everything you would expect in your typical frilly magical girl story but made it all some how dark and twisted. The art style did take a bit to get used to but it is such a great watch. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

  2. I can relate. This anime caught me completely off guard when I first watched it. It absolutely thrives on contrast, which explains the difference between the childish animation and fantastic witch world artwork. Nonetheless, I agree the normal world animation is not my favorite. Appropriate personal rating

    Like

Leave a Reply

